History, Genealogy and Heritage Events

Unlock The Past will be at

Unlock the Past Cruises

New South Wales Almanac and Country Directory 1921 (Moore)

Product Code: 
Sample File: 

This book is divided into two sections, an Australian Almanac and a NSW directory for 1921, and contains invaluable information on places and people, throughout New South Wales. Also included is a large colour map of NSW towns, rail and coach lines and other transport options.

The Almanac is 180 pages in length and includes a detailed calendar including "remarkable" events, sun and moon times, tides, phases of the moon, etc. This section also includes lists of court sessions, government departments, churches, societies & public institutions and schools as well as a detailed postal guide and list of postal towns and mail closing times.

The NSW directory contains a list of New South Wales towns over about 450 pages. Under each town is listed distance from Sydney, transport options, climate description, county name, police district and population. Depending on the size and services of the town the following may also be listed:

  • Brief description of the town
  • Magistrates
  • Public Service list
  • Banks
  • Schools
  • Medical information
  • Newspapers
  • Societies and clubs – sports clubs, town bands, Progress Associations, School of Arts, etc.
  • Hotels
  • Commercial lists: – Auctioneers, Bakers, Builders, Bootmakers, Drapers, Dressmakers, Hairdressers, Milliners, Newsagents, Wheelwrights etc.
  • Shire councillors

Each of these lists includes the names and positions of people involved.

This book contains easily accessible lists and information on hundreds of towns and thousands of people involved in different positions and trades across the entire state of New South Wales in 1921.

AMAROO. County—Ashburnham. Police District—Molong.
A small settlement 8 miles from Molong, 15 from Orange Agricultural and pastoral. Daily mail Telephone and Telegraph Office. Population, 230.
PUB. SCHOOL—W. E. Davey.
POST & TEL. OFFICE—W. E. Davey, Postmaster.
RESID. ENGINEER (for Amaroo Shire)—Mr. Priddle
FAR. & SETTLERS' ASSOC.—H. D. Evans, President.
AMAROO SHIRE.—Council meets at Cumnock: G. H. Bowhay, President; W. Merceron Hudson, Clerk; Mr. Priddle, Engineer.